Dim mode not working on gear S3

I am working on iMac with firefox, phone is samsung S5 and watch is gear S3 frontier. Ok here goes, I create a face watch with Facer Creator, check option for “DIM” mode to make sure that I have something activated for “DIM” mode, then sync on my phone and then on my watch. I activate the “always on” mode, wait for the screen to switch to DIM, the screen starts to Dim and then facewatch freezes and doesn’t turn to DIM Screen, I move the watch to turn on again the screen and it comes back to full on and goes on like that.

I’m new to Facer creator, so doesn’t know what to do.
Thank you
Francois

Have the same.

Looks like the dim function in creator is not compatible yet with AOD.

Hey guys!

On Gear S3, we currently do not use the Dim mode in always-on mode, but instead continue using the Active mode. This is because the S3 is the most powerful device today and can actually keep that Active mode all day long. Would you guys prefer to have the ability to design a Dim mode for Gear S3 as well?

1 Like

Yes it can, but at a huge battery drain, about 15-20%/hour.

Is there an option to select either? Some designs might be good enough for AOD some beter with dim mode.

Samsung restricts the original to 15% of pixels used for AOD for battery life.

I like the active mode always on
Mostly the dim mode is to simple for the gear s3.

I also like a dim mode for Gear S3.
I sometimes can’t recharge my watch overnight. Also like to do more days with it. Why not utilize the full product with optimal battterylife? Dim mode can be fancy too, thats up to the creators.

What happens now is that the screen does dim a little bit, but the second hand lags, stutters, or just stops after a few seconds on some watchfaces. It also DRAINS the battery for me. No way i can make a full day with it.

1 Like

Samsung gear S3 Frontier, EU Edition, AOD