Noob here, trying to learn

I’ve made a couple of boring faces. But could someone point me in the right direction to be able to put the watch/phone batteries on the faces. Also, to be able to spell out the time please?
I have no idea where to look. I’ve been using facer.io

Thank you

If you look at my (also noob) faces you’ll be able to see how the watch battery works on a dial. Basically you use the battery tag as the rotation value on a hand (in my case with modifiers to match a slightly non-standard dial). To add the battery as a text read out you only need to add the battery complication from the menu top left of the creator.

https://www.facer.io/user/EEq0O4YFFf

1 Like

Check out the Documentation page. That includes all the details on tags and gives a few tutorials.

Otherwise, search the forum for ideas and tips.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for your help. I guess I need to read up because I have no idea what tags are lol!

I appreciate this, thank you very much at least I have a start! :blush:

Spend time looking through these message boards. The math some of these guys use is beyond my comprehension, but a few of them have enabled the Inspector mode on their dials so you can see what they did in order to make some of their stuff work. The tools on Facer are great, but you really need to design a lot of the elements and upload them in order to get a really cool dial. I’m sure you knew that part, but that was the first thing I learned. There are a few Google+ groups that are really helpful with sharing bits and pieces of watches like numbers, bezels, hands, and things like that. I suck at choosing the right hands for the watch and I don’t know how these guys made them look so realistic, but I’m also learning. It’s been a really fun process and every day I come home from work with new ideas that I have to sit down and try out.

2 Likes