Battery question

Hi, folks.

I think I know the answer to my question below, but maybe not since I’m not a designer… but I think the answer will be, “yes,” lol.

If I have two identical watch faces, and I use both the exact same way… AOD on or off, whichever, all settings set up the same way, interact with the watch in the exact same way… here’s the difference.

While designed the same, one watch, in addition to the time, displays:
Heart rate, steps, day/date, and watch battery.

The other displays: heart rate, steps, day/date, watch battery, AND calories burned, distance walked, weather, sunrise/sunset, and phone battery.

Will this second scenario, with all the extra data points eat more battery?

Again, I’m thinking that yes it will, but I’m not positive.

1 Like

Probably yes, but it will be so slight you won’t notice. What really eats up a battery is how many pixels on the screen has to be turned on to show the face. A black background colored face will have less pixels turned on than a light color background.

3 Likes

@louandmaura as @mrantisocialguy has said and also how many times you look at your watch . If one has more to look at one might look at it more. As a Designer I find when I am testing the Faces the synching takes a lot of power.

3 Likes

I expect weather in particular adds a little battery drain, there is more active communication between the watch and phone to update it. But I doubt calories and distance add much if any drain because you already have the steps being called in the 1st face, and those two additional data elements draw from the steps count.

2 Likes

Thank you all.

@russellcresser too funny you say that. As a relatively new smart watch owner, (Galaxy Watch 4), who has become very enamored of the tons of amazing, (in my eyes), watch faces, I’ve only just the other day settled into a routine of only one face per day, lol.