Grid display (how to activate)?

Hello everyone.
Absolutely brand new user and already thoroughly enjoying creating basic faces in the free version.
But I cannot find get the alignment grid to display (on Android phone or tablet). I can bring up the box but cannot tick the option, is this a limitation of the free version?
Also, when I save a creation, is it saved on my phone/tablet or is it only saved online?

Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

Hey Welcome @sirswampthing1 . Your work is Saved on a Server Piritualy based in L . A . Some say if is on Servers all over the planet . I am no expert .
The grid works for me but I do not find it useful . I use Creator Beta but I don’t think it makes a difference in that case .
You will soon learn to move stuff about with the numbers . The snap is horribly annoying .

1 Like

Thank you very much.
I suspect part of the problem is caused by the dpi/zoom settings on my devices (so I can read stuff).
I’d just like the grid so I can align my various choices more accurately.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum @sirswampthing1

Since it is all saved online somewhere, I tend to use quite a few pre-fabricated pictures, such as rims, shadows, numbers, hands, etc. This way I do not have to create to many elements in Facer.
Although also a nice challenge to only use Facer elements and no imported pictures…

To your first question, I am originally a technician, so working with X, Y coordinates is my thing.
I only use the grid to move things around to approximately where I want them and then do the alignment by X,Y values.

The gird can be displayed if you tap on the little gear at the bottom left:

2 Likes

That’s what I have tried.
The options box opens and ‘smart layer toggling’ and ‘snap to grid’ are already ticked (and can’t be unticked) and none of the other options can be ticked.

2 Likes