Help with compass

This is a work in progress. I’ve never used a compass before.

There is no way for me to test it in creator and I’m not convinced that the compass is working correctly on my Galaxy 4 watch. The needle definitely rotates when I move, but it doesn’t seem to correlae with what I believe are the directions I’m facing.
Could a few of you test it and tell me if it works or advise corrections before I invest more time in the design?
Thanks.
-Warren

3 Likes

No idea what’s going wrong here sorry Sir, but I did sync it on my GW4 Classic, and yes, it doesn’t appear to be right for some reason.
After checking around the Community for Compass, and seeing as you used #CMP# all I could suggest is that you try these other 2 variations that I found: either (-(#CMP#)) or else -(interpDial(interpOvershoot(#Dsm#,0,3,2)*#CMP#, 0, 360,360,+0))

2 Likes

Not every watch has compass cabability. My ticwatch does not have it, I’ll reactivate my old watch and see…

3 Likes

@wsilbers . I check the compass on my Phone save sending it to the watch all the time . As @icrltd4 says test (-(#CMP#)) as CMP is a Heading not a pointer direction angle . Make a simple test for your watch before you spend hours on a face . But that is looking very nice . If you are interested I have a Compass with a Wind Direction indicator . If I was navigating the planet in a Sailing ship as your face suggests I would want that on my wrist .

2 Likes

@wsilbers I had a compass on one of mine a wee while ago, it used the cardinal points and tickmarks. I’ve just re-checked it on Pixel and GW4, and it seems to work (though I had to wave my arm around quite a bit to get the Pixel to calibrate).

For the cardinal points , say ‘N’, I used (Y value):

(135*sin(rad(#CMP#-90))+160)

And for the Tick marks which is probably closer to what you are after I used (Rotation):

(0-#CMP#)

I probably got to these through trial and error…