Line length by sunrise sunset

I have a line 200 pixels in length that equals 24 hours. I have a hash mark that moves by smooth rotation, starting at midnight and moving to the right along the line. I want to put another line on top of the first line with the length to start at sunrise and end at sunset. This line will depict the daylight hours.
I’m new at expressions, so any help is greatly appreciated. I am not using the pro version.

2 Likes

Hey . Nice Idea . There are guys that have done this stuff but it is difficult to find . I will try help . You must have a Basic grasp of the Progress fill thing .
You have to get the hrs time of sunrise *60 and the minutes of sun rise and add them together . The same for sunset . So if you subtract the SR mins from the SS mins you have the daylight duration . You can use #DISDAYTIME# To switch on and off the progress . I think you know how to scale the Line / Progress over the 200 PX.
The general rule on the Community as you may know is to Help People to get there rather than do it for them . Make a start and let us see where you get .
I would actually use a Shape layer Rectangle ( fill 0 to 1 ). Sometimes an Image is not possible to Zero the tail and it will scale will Scale . Perhaps easier if I show you .

2 Likes

Here is a quick test . My CAD annoyingly puts a Transparent border round anything I draw . I know how to deal with it but this is just for illustration . You will see that it simulates with the Time Machine slider . Note I have changed the pivot orientation of my drawn square . Check Align .
You will see the point is that it is scaled from the edge of the image and not the visible bit so it will never stay rooted on the left .
Let us know if you struggle to find the SR SS Tags you can do maths with .

3 Likes

This is hard to QC without simulating future sunrise times but you can get started with this for your daylight shape layer

X Position: (((34+#WSUNRISEH24#*8))+(#WSUNRISEM#*2))