Calculating Easter CHALLENGE

Hello, I’m fairly new to Facer and am trying out different things. I am working on a USA Holiday watch face where the Image will change on the day of the holiday. When there is no holiday, it is fairly basic with some graphical movement, to keep the interest. Here’s my issue. Easter does not fall on a specific date, rather it lands on the First Sunday after the Full Moon after the Spring Equinox. Equinox, from what I have read, and based on the Gregorian calendar, falls on March 21st of every year. Then the next full moon is used to put a date on Easter. For example, the first full moon after March 21st, 2024, is the 25th. The 25th is a Monday. Easter would fall on the following Sunday which is March 31st. I want to know how to calculate Easer in Facer using the built-in Moon Phase widget, if possible, but have it work every year seamlessly. I’ve looked at how to get the Moon Phase, but nothing pops up on how to actually calculate the date for Easter. Thank you in advanced.

2 Likes

Ha Ha Welcome @wingr.rew Fairly new to Facer wants to make the Most complex Formula . Besides what you have outlined . Next year is a leap year . If you wanted your Calendar to last for Millenia you would have to take into account there being an extra Leap every 100 years and 10000 . Any way it will be a little easier than trying to have a Calendar to tell when the Clocks go back to standard time .
Over here ( UK ) the main Celebration of Easter is on a Sunday .
I personally will not be Volunteering for this one . I have used the Christmas and Halloween formula on Faces . I can show you that for Fun .

There are some Sleeping Giants of Mathematics . They are not always easily awoken . I could Invoke them but I always feel that is rude .
They I am sure given a bit of Time may accept the Challange . Often the Magic word is Please .
Some times , as you see I modified your Title , offering a Challange is enough .