Displaying pre-selected lines of text at random

Hello! I’m a new creator and as such I have a thousand gimmicky silly ideas for faces, but I’m still learning the ropes and am not yet sure what the limits of the creator are, so forgive me if this is a silly question or if I’ve put it in the wrong place.

For the face I’m currently working on, I would like to have a field which, once every twenty seconds, selects a random entry from a list of pre-written sentences and displays it on the watchface. Like a “random fact of the day” sort of thing, except it’s a “random fact of the twenty seconds”. What’s the best way to do this? I can probably figure out how to roll a bounded random number and assign it to a variable, but I don’t know how to go about using that variable to select a sentence, or how/where I can best store the sentences.

In other coding systems I would do this by creating a single .txt file with a sentence on each line, generating a random number, and using it in a command like “display line #(number)”. What would be the closest equivalent for doing this in Facer?

(edit: for clarification, I’m thinking here about a list of several hundred sentences).

3 Likes

Depends a bit, there are multiple options.

You can work with opacity. Each text element can have a time based opacity and adding random values to it. This would need quite some math …

Another option, which is a lot easier, is to display a random text upon wake (wakeRand function). Considering most watches time out into dim mode after 15 seconds or less anyway.

If you need more help, let us know…

6 Likes

wakeRand seems like it would achieve what I want in terms of update frequency, thanks!

How can I connect that number to a list of sentences?

3 Likes

As @tom.vannes suggested, you can create 20 text or image elements and in the opacity set it using wakeRand(min, max) expression.
E.g. $(wakeRand(1,20))==1?100:0$
This would require 20 different layers with the opacity having the == 1 to 20.