Help with wind compliation

Hi all from very frosty Canada! I’m new to creating watch faces, and have a question about how to show wind chill. I’m assuming the wind complication is the one to use, but I need to combine wind speed and temperature to generate that number. Any suggestions for me? If this has been asked and answered I apologize, a quick review of topics didn’t reveal anything.

1 Like

Hey Welcome @evmijkes . I do not remember that being addressed . People calculate Calories and Distance from the Step count as there is no direct data. You have some good variables to work with Wind speed Direction and Current temperature . You will understand that There is a Tolerance on the Data we are given . I am sure it is a simple factoring to combine speed and temperature to get wind chill . If you get stuck we can call the Cavalry . I will have a go as well . You it get plenty Differing Ideas but they will all roughly give the same answer .

Hello @evmijkes,

This was an interesting one to figure out but I tried my best. I am quite new to facer however I have come up with an expression that should be what you’re looking for. According to the National Weather Service, this is the formula to calculate wind chill using temperature in Fahrenheit and Wind Speed:

Formula

I noticed that windspeed does not produce an accurate number using the imperial mph however I was able to get around that using some equations. The wind chill is also undefined when the temperature exceeds 50 degrees F or the wind speed falls below 3 mph. I took all this into account to create what should be the most accurate model for wind chill. It should work for both Imperial and Metric preferences.