Preferred Format for Custom Fonts?

I’m building my first watchface with a Custom Font. It displays fine within the world of Facer, but it doesn’t display on my watch. The fonts are open for all uses and I can upload them as TTF, OTF, or WOFF. Is one of these format choices better than others? If the font is Unicode-compliant, does that mean the character set is too large? Is there an upper limit on the number of glyphs (characters) in a font? Thanks, Chris

Welcome @ChrisEverett

Only TTF
Try to synchronise any other watch face where the font to be loaded is used (another user).

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply, @lucky.andrei!

Fortunately, I did upload the TTF format. It’s an out-of-the-box full font, so it includes more than the basic character set. It has the Greek characters — plus the Hungarian and Czech accent characters, etc.

If necessary, I can remove the extra characters — I’m a font designer, so I have Fontographer and FontLab font-editing tools — but I was trying to minimize the number of variables in this (my first attempt at using a custom font).

I would try to sync with another watchface where the font is used by another user, but how on earth could I find that information?

Is there a list anywhere that shows which custom fonts have been used successfully? I was trying to use “Oswald” — it’s a very compressed sans-serif font that is available in a variety of weights (XtraLight through XtraBold). If there’s a different compressed sans-serif that has been used successfully, I’d be happy to try that.

With the limited space on a watchface, I’m surprised that more people aren’t using a highly-legible compressed sans-serif font — we could all benefit from that.

Thanks again, lucky.andrei

Regards, Chris

For example.On the left side of the buttons there will be a small rocket and press it to enter view mode. Just open this watch face in a new window or browser tab.

1 Like

Thanks, @lucky.andrei — this was enormously helpful!