Watchmaker v Facer

I’ve been a Creator Pro and Facer premium user for a long time, but I don’t know if that will continue.

The Facer creator interface is basically a failed first year CS project. Laggy, requires more resources than an aircraft carrier to operate, slow, slow, slow. Did I mention SLOW?

With Watchmaker I can create watch faces on my phone or tablet quickly. Watchmaker has basically the same functionally of Facer, but you are not required to PAY to use any features. Complications, color changing, multiple screens, variables, etc are all there free of cost.

I can edit a watchface and it only takes a few seconds to upload to my watch.

I’ve yet to hit a roadblock with duplicating my Facer faces on Watchmaker.

If you use the Windows subsystem for Android, you can make Watchmaker faces on your computer as well as on mobile devices. This is a big plus for me, as I can create, edit, test, and publish faces regardless of where I’m at.

The one place that Watchmaker falls on it’s face is the lack of an organized forum such as this one. This is a big failure, but I’m leaning towards everything else about Watchmaker overcoming this issue.

And one really major point for me is that Watchmaker reports the proper attitude on my watch, whereas Facer reports it EXACTLY 3.14 times the actual altitude. I’ve brought this up several times in tickets, emails, and the forum, and never even gotten a response from Facer

Opinions, arguments, emotional outbursts?

4 Likes

I have used both. Not partial to either, will say that I think Facer is much easier in terms of workflow. As far as community goes, watchmaker doesn’t have one aside from Mewe, which is nothing but people requesting watchfaces. In Facer, at least there’s a chance of some registration for your work and even partnership to sell on the platform.

3 Likes

I’m not a partner. I’m a tiny fish in this ecosystem.

2 Likes

Ya, I misread it. Still…I will say it must be nice to be a partner, lol.

2 Likes